Home - Stonemasonry - Sundials - Funerary art - Decoration - Sculpture - Marbrerie de bâtiment - Contact
  • Français
  • English
Home arrow More
lundi, 11 décembre 2017
Sundials
Learn more about sundials
Article Index
Learn more about sundials
the different kinds of sundials
How to install and direct a sundial
Informations given by the sundial

The different kinds of sundials

The sundials can be of several types:

Sundials with polar-pointing gnomon

The sundials with polar-pointing gnomon are the most widespread dials. They are plane and have all their  gnomon (the physical structure of a sundial which casts the shadow) parallel to the axis that passes by the two poles. They can be placed on any plan, that it is vertical or not and with any orientation. One classifies these dials according to the orientation and the slope of the table of the dial (Vertical-Horizontal, Southerner, Westerner, Eastern or declining-polar or equatorial)

Analemmatic sundials

The analemmatic sundials are members of a dials family  whose gnomon is mobile according to the date in the year. An analemmatic sundial dial analemmatic consists of an ellipse graduated with time points, and a central line where the gnomon can be moved during the year .

The most current current analemmatic sundial is horizontal. It is often carried out on the ground, with large dimensions, so that a person can play the role of the gnomon, putting themselves at the location indicated by the date, by lifting his arm straight to cast its shadow on the ellipse.

Cylindric sundials

The cylindrical dials are plotted on their face internal or external, and the axis of the cylinder may have a varied inclination.

They are of three types: equatorial bows sundials (armillary dials), polar-semicircular sundials without gnomon and shepherd's dials.

Bifilar sundials

The time is indicated by the intersection on the dial plate, of the shadows of two wires (or other lines in space) stretched above and parallel to it.

Accueil - Taille de Pierre - Cadrans Solaires - Art Funéraire - Décoration - Sculpture - Marbrerie de bâtiment - Contact
  • Français
  • English
Accueil arrow En Savoir Plus
lundi, 11-12-2017
Les Cadrans Solaires
En savoir plus sur les cadrans solaires
Index de l'article
En savoir plus sur les cadrans solaires
Les types de cadrans solaires
Comment placer un cadran solaire
Informations données par le cadran

Les types de cadrans solaires

Les cadrans solaires peuvent être de plusieurs types:

Les cadrans à style polaires: 

Les cadrans solaires plans à style polaire sont les cadrans les plus répandus. Ils sont plans et ont tous leur style (la tige dont l'ombre projetée indique l'heure) parallèle à l'axe qui passe par les deux pôles. Ils peuvent être placés sur n'importe quel plan, qu'il soit vertical ou non et avec n'importe quelle orientation. On classe ces cadrans selon l'orientation et l'inclinaison de la table du cadran (Vertical-horizontal méridional,occidental, oriental ou déclinant-polaire ou équatorial)

Les cadrans solaires analémmatiques

Les cadrans analemmatiques sont les membres d'une famille de cadrans dont le style est mobile en fonction de la date dans l'année. Un cadran analemmatique est constitué d'une ellipse graduée avec des points horaires, et une ligne centrale où se déplace le style au cours de l'année.

Le cadran analemmatique le plus courant est horizontal. Il est souvent réalisé au sol, de grande dimension, afin qu'une personne puisse jouer le rôle du style en se plaçant à l'endroit indiqué par la date en levant le bras bien droit pour projeter son ombre sur l'ellipse.

Les cadrans solaires cylindriques

Les cadrans cylindriques sont tracés sur leur face interne ou externe et l'axe du cylindre peut avoir une inclinaison variée.

Ils sont de trois types: La couronne armillaire, le cadran hémi-cylindrique polaire sans style et le cadran de berger.

Les cadrans bifilaires

On regroupe sous l'appellation de cadran bifilaire, les cadrans dont le "style" est formé par deux fils orthogonaux tendus au dessus du cadran à des hauteurs différentes. L'ombre de ce style forme donc une croix sur le cadran.